Book Review – Purple Hibiscus

(Part C of Bronze Award)

Title: Purple Hibiscus

Author: Chimamanada Ngozi Adichie

Pages: 307

Date: 5/1/2015

Rating – 4.5 (out of 5)

 

Kambili’s father rules over her family with an iron fist; punishing any of them, including his wife, violently if any sin was committed. Her life is like a large schedule, asking the same questions, doing the same things all day every day, but this all changes when she stays at her auntie’s house for a week. There she discovers the freedom of laughter and love and slowly but surely she becomes a happier person.

This was a lovely book to read. It is very well written and the author really goes into detail when she describes the life style of Kambili. It takes me right into the life of a Catholic and was a real eye opener. I was almost in tears when I was reading one of the punishments, it was just so vivid and terrible. I laughed and smiled when she did and I enjoyed this tale thoroughly.

The cover is nice. It’s very simple but also goes with the book. There is half a girl’s face, cutting of just above the mouth at the top. And at the bottom of the cover there is a pink hibiscus. The title is placed just above the middle of the page and it is in pink, the same pink as the hibiscus. I like it because it’s not distracting and really suits the story.

purple

Kambili has a very quiet personality at the beginning of the book. She stutters and spends a lot of her time trying to make her father proud. At first she was quite frightened to go to her auntie’s house because it is different with what she is used to. After a while though she opens up and becomes really happy, not scared to smile and laugh and be free.

This was an extremely heart-warming book and although it did make me cry, I loved reading every bit of it. One thing it does do is leave you with a question, why? Why did her mother do what she did? Although after it all life didn’t go as perfect as it seem it would, it still had a happy ending.

The girl who discovered happiness with the purple hibiscuses.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Purple Hibiscus

  1. Sound like an interesting book. I might read it. I like to recommend you anther book – The Earth of Mankind by Pramoedya Ananta Toer. This is the first of a series. It upset me so much that I could not bring myself to read the others in the series. The story was actually verbally told by the author to the inmates while he was a political prisoner in Indonesia. I think the books may still be banned in Indonesia. Read it and I like to know how you got on with it. Can’t wait to read your review.

    Like

Leave a comment